BUILD Home / Office Build Critique

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mguilicutty

Explorer
Hello everybody, been lurking, first post, and I apologize in advance for it's length...

I've been planning for a while to merge all my various servers into a virtualized setup and using Freenas as the storage end of it. I'm new to Freenas but I've been reading up on it for a few months and I've been running it under Virtualbox for a while trying out different things and familiarizing myself with it. My home is my office. I'm a network guy during the day, but I also have a couple of side businesses doing general IT work for a few small businesses and a data processing deal. I also have all the modern home storage needs like videos, photos etc. I've been in IT for 20+ years starting out in sys administration and coding but the last 8 years or so I've concentrated mostly on the network side of things. I have no real experience with NAS admin, I've always used raid cards on my servers.

My thoughts have been elsewhere for a while and I'm ending up having to put this together sooner than I had wanted to. I was hoping to bounce it off you guys and see what your thoughts were. I'm building a new box for the Freenas machine, I've purchased everything except for the ram and SSDs. Here are the specs so far...

Supermicro 933T case (3U 15 3.5" SAS/SATA)
Supermicro X9DR7-LN4F Motherboard (4x Intel Gb, 10 SATA via Intel, 8 SAS/SATA via LSI 2308)
Intel E5-2620 cpu (6 cores / 12 threads 2GHz, 2.5 turbo)
64 GB ECC RAM (4x16GB)
6x WD RED 3TB SATA in raidz2 for 12TB slow pool
4x WD RE 2TB SAS in raid 10 for 4TB fast pool
4x ? 240GB SATA SSD in raid 10 for 480GB real fast pool

Planned storage use...

Slow pool

Family photos / videos - presently ~900GB and growing all the time.
Music - only ~30GB now but I'm going to set my wife to ripping all our old CDs + tapes + vinyl into a lossless format.
DVDs / BluRays - approaching 3TB and getting nuttier w/ BluRays.