Supermicro H12SSW-NT - FreeNAS 11.3-U1 NVMe issues

chrisk2305

Dabbler
Hi Guys,

I just completed my new freenas build with a Supermicro H12SSW-NT Mainboard and an eight Core Epyc 2 CPU. I have connected 4 U.2 NVMe SSDs to the board via two slimsas x8 cables.

The disks simply won't appear. Neither in GUI nor Shell.

I spent a good amount of time checking the BIOS and the cabling and finally decided to try the new TrueNAS 12 nightly. And voila - all 4 appeared.

Do you have any idea what FreeNAS 11.3 may be missing? AMD NVMe driver? I just don't get it.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Last edited:

chrisk2305

Dabbler
I guess I would need a newer Kernel that fully supports AMD "Rome" Platform. Anyway to update the kernel?

paulg

Cadet
Additionally I booted Systemrescue CD via USB drive and all NVMe are getting detected.
Hey how is it going with this nas? I am planning to build a nvme nas with this 2113S-WN24RT and I am a newbie. So i want to hear if it was an easy setup and what kinda performance are you getting? are you using 10g? thanks all the best

chrisk2305

Dabbler
Well I can't speak for the system you posted as this is using the H11 instead of the H12 Mainboard I am using. I had no luck detecting the nvme ssds connected via Slimsas x8 to the backplane. I also tried a Supermicro NVMe HBA (AOC-SLG3-4E4T-O ) and no luck either. Then I went for another! nvme hba with PLX chip (AOC-SLG3-4E2P) and this worked. Definitely not an ideal solution as I would love to have the onboard nvme ports working. I guess I have to wait until TrueNAS 12 is out. I had high hopes for the new update (11.3 U2) but that didn't do the trick.

paulg

Cadet