Supermicro 8 Bay FreeNAS project, suggestions and tips needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgeeza

Cadet
Hello FreeNAS Community!

I'm Toby (AKA MrGeeza), I'm relatively new to the world of freenas, I've been running it as more of a hobby than in a production environment, until I had my fingers burnt, the HDD in my PC unfortunately unexpectedly gave up a few weeks ago and I nearly lost EVERYTHING.

So, enough is enough, I've got to be serious and invest in a proper backup solution that I can rely on. I've been looking into buying an off the shelf NAS solution for one of my 3 backup locations, but A they are quite costly for a good one and B, where's the fun in that. :D

I've spent a LONG time watching videos, reading articles and tutorials on freenas and I've taken the jump to building my own. I hope I've not made a monumental mess up with my hardware choice, but I'm sure you can tell me :)

Here are the specs:

Model: Supermicro SYS-6026T-URF
Motherboard:
Supermicro X8DTU-F (Flashed with Latest Firmware)
Power Supply: Redundant 720W
Processor: 2 x 4 Core Intel E5620 2.4Ghz
Memory: 24Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 ECC
Storage: 8 x 3.5 Hot Swap Drive Trays (Currently 8 x 3TB SAS 10K drives 3.5" on their way)
Storage Controller: Supermicro AOC-USAS2-L8e 6Gbps HBA (Flashed to IT Mode with Latest Firmware)
Boot: 2 x USB 3 16GB Thumb Drives, direct on motherboard.
Network: Dual 10/100/1000
Form Factor: 2U Rackmount

Hopefully that's everything :)

My Questions:

1. I have 8 drives, is it better to have them all as one big pool or reduce the overall NAS capacity, but have 4 mirroring the other 4?
  2. Baring in mind this is a brand new setup so I can have it setup however I want, is there anything I need to bare in mind, or anything that I can setup from day one that will ensure i've got everything in place to keep my data safe?
  3. I've got 2 boot drives, am I correct in thinking I can mirror them or add in some kind of redundancy?