Stutter in CIFS performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

detyrious

Cadet
Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the whole NAS thing, so bare with me.
I built myself a NAS box to use as a home server, i.e. fileserver, media server, backup.

Hardware:
MB/CPU: ASRock E350M1/USB3 with AMD E-350 CPU (2x1,8GHz)
RAM: 8GB Kingston ValueRAM
DISKS: 4x 2000GB Seagate Barracuda Green 5900.3

At first I only had three disks and everything was pretty smooth. Performance with CIFS was stable and around 70MB/s.
But yesterday I added the fourth disk, destroyed the ZFS Pool and created a new one (RAID-Z). Since then my CIFS performance is pretty much broken.
If I try to write a large file (~12GiB) to a CIFS share, the speed starts at 100MB/s, goes down to around 70MB/s and then stops completely for a couple of seconds. After it picks up again the speed floats around 30-40MB/s and completely stops every few seconds.

In Bandwith Monitor it looks something like this: http://goo.gl/8EZqI

Is there any way to improve performance?
Even if I try FTP oder NFS the same problem occours.
So...

a) Does the CPU have not enough power for a four disk raid-z?
b) Are there settings I can tweak the zfs pool with? I'm a huge noob and I don't even know how or where I could change those settings.

I appreciate every help I could get.
Thanks.

Edit: Some more graphs. http://goo.gl/Lg2iy
And I'm using the FreeNAS 8.2-beta4

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Looking at the graphs it appears that when the LAN speeds drop the CPU goes really high(about 100%). I do know that more ram is always better. I do see that your IRQ maxes out at almost 50%(1 whole CPU). I may be mistaken but that seems REALLY high.

Random thoughts you can try...

Do you have AHCI and other performance optimizing settings in the BIOS enabled?

Can you install more than 8GB temporarily and see what happens?