Storage issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joshua Walker

Dabbler
Hi, im new to freenas and i just found out I can't mount my ext4 drives without making them part of a zpool which would wipey drives.

My problem is that I am not home and I'm working remotely. Is there a way to mount my drives in ssh so that I can move the data so I can make the zpool? I'm a newb to linux in general so step will be appreciated.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
You'll have to offload that data somewhere else if you want to use the drive that it's on. Might be best to keep it as a backup and start with new.

Joshua Walker

Dabbler
So there is no way to mount it outside the freenas via CLI?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
No mounting of EXT4 drives is not supported as clearly explained in the manual that's linked at the top of this page and your FreeNAS GUI.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Is your goal to mount that disk and serve the data that's on it, or to mount the disk so you can copy its data onto your pool? If the latter, the Import Disk button in the GUI should do the trick.

Joshua Walker

Dabbler
Mount so I can see what is on it and copy it somewhere

danb35

Hall of Famer
"Somewhere" like where? If to your storage pool, again, the Import Disk button will (or at least should--if it doesn't, it's a bug) do the business--it will mount the volume, copy everything onto your pool (into a specified dataset), and then unmount the volume.

But if you insist on doing it at the command line, that should be possible as well--if the system can mount the ext4 volume through the web GUI, the backend CLI tools have to be there. I'm not sure if ext4 is directly supported, but if not, it's backward compatible with ext3 and ext2.

Joshua Walker

Dabbler