Stick with FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mystara

Cadet
Hi,

I've been using FreeNAS for a few months to store some non-critical data and time-machine backups. All of the data on my FreeNAS machine is backed up offsite and I don't use any kind of RAID.

I've been running this all on a custom build G3420 (Pentium; 3.2 GHz; Dual core) with 16 GB of RAM and two 4 TB hard disks. Given that the data is non-critical, and given the stark warnings against using non-ECC RAM with ZFS, I opted for UFS.

Now that FreeNAS 9.3 has been released, UFS is no longer an option. My long term choices therefore seem to be:

- Move to ZFS
- Move to other software

My hardware isn't best-suited for ZFS, which is why I'm considering moving on. However, it's just a "home use" machine (max 2 users) and I'm therefore curious as to whether I'll really suffer with non-ECC RAM, especially if I'm not doing any kind of RAID or encryption.

Thoughts?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Non-ECC will work fine unless you happen to have bad luck and memory corruption strikes. This could result in anything from nothing at all happening all the way to catastrophic pool loss.

Do you ride in your car with the seatbelt? When was the last time you got in an accident? ... It might never happen. Or it might.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Well, good news is that your CPU supports ECC, so it'd be one less expense if you were to move to ECC.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Why move to 9.3 ? Isn't 9.2.1.9 doing a good enough job or are there features in 9.3 that you must have?

As for ECC-RAM, truth be told, you could run a ZFS system and eliminate ever doing a scrub on the pool and you would have the exact same risk of data corruption as on a UFS drive. The big threat with ZFS is during a Scrub if you have a stuck RAM bit or two.

My advice, if you are fine with what you have, stick with it. You can do your upgrade in more cost effective steps like this: