SOLVED ssg-5029p-e1ctr12l-2u based NAS review request

Status
Not open for further replies.

nekopep

Dabbler
Hello, i'm new to freenas, got strong linux expertise, good freebsd knowledge (pfsense)

I would like to build a production server meant primary to store:
1/lot of data (multi TB wav files, sequencial access) (~20/30TB)
2/solidworks files (lot of small files with very low access time needed, to allow network work of 4 users) (~10GB?)
3/standard projects data (pdf, word) (~1TB)
All shared over SMB share with AD environment.

Optional:
3/A dedicated pool for ESXi to get all our data on one server
(This server will be duplicated to another site for backup/disaster recovery)

User environment:
Windows and Linux users

So far I've identified this device:
ssg-5029p-e1ctr12l-2u 1826€
9*8TB (276€ each) or 6*10TB(353.25€ each) Hgst He10 SAS/SATA 4K sector -> pool for main scenario (raidZ2)
Intel Xeon Silver 4110 2.1GHz 11Mo : 450€ HT (perhaps bronze enought?)
32Gb de ram : crucial RAM DDR4 PC4-19200 - CT32G4LFQ424A 32GB ECC registered DDR4 2666 400€

Here are my questions:
1/these disk can be either sata2 or sas3 for same price.
Is there any benefit of SAS over SATA provided you can't read them on another computer...
2/Is there any significant performance loss going to 9 disk over 6 disk (price will be lower and capacity higher, but limit 2nd pool)
3/is it necessary to invest in 64GB ecc ram system or more?
4/will a L2ARC based on half of a dcp3700 will improve perfs in read for solidworks files? (shared with ZIL in case of esxi scenarion, see below)

optional Esxi scenario:
intel-ssd-dcp3700-series-400gb / m2 format: 604€ HT (for esxi sync perfs)

5/What disk is better for this pool? (3 disks / probably raid Z1 if I go for 9x8TB for main pool)
a)SSD (297€ each) 1TB: https://www.amazon.fr/Samsung-MZ-75E250B-EU-Disque-interne/dp/B00P738MUU?th=1
b)15K disk (269.10€ each) 600GB : http://www.busiboutique.com/produit...15000rpm-huc156030css200-sas-512n-200711.html