Small ARC?

cwagz

Dabbler
I am very new to TrueNAS and ZFS.

I recently converted my home Hyper-V / Windows file server over to TrueNAS Scale.

The system had 32GB of ram when I first installed TrueNAS, but I quickly realized I needed more to support the VMs I wanted to run. I upgraded the RAM to 64GB and I now have allocated 28GB of RAM to my 6 VMs.

The main storage pool is a RAIDZ1 (4 x 8TB HDDs / 1x 256GB nvme for cache) archived data (photos and such) along with the image backup repository for all the other computers in the house.

VMs are all running on a mirrored pool (2 x 1TB nvme).

The question I have is regarding Arc size. I was under the impression that ZFS would pretty much consume all my left over RAM for arc, but every time I check it seems like my arc size is only around 3.2GB. Is this correct? Is it possible the arc settings are still based on my initial installation which only had 32GB of ram?

2022-08-04 09_04_59-Window.png

2022-08-04 09_06_09-Window.png

Constantin

Vampire Pig
I wonder if it's simply a matter of time. Leave the machine on for a week and come back. Chances are, all free RAM will be allocated...

cwagz

Dabbler
I wonder if it's simply a matter of time. Leave the machine on for a week and come back. Chances are, all free RAM will be allocated...
Thank you for the reply. Uptime is almost 6 days and no change. I also just had lightroom copy a few GB of data to the library on my pool and the arc size did not change during the entire operation. Is there a way for me to check to see if it is limited somehow?

1659910223396.png

Chris3773

Dabbler
You could try to change the zfs_arc_max size, however the default is 1/2 of total system RAM so it should be using the rest of your RAM.

This can be changed with the command:
echo SIZE_IN_BYTES >> /sys/module/zfs/parameters/zfs_arc_max

You will need to add it as a preinit command under the "Init/Shutdown Scripts" selection for the change to persistence across reboots.

cwagz

Dabbler