sluggish MS Office file r/w

Status
Not open for further replies.

tl5k5

Cadet
Hey all,
I've got a FreeNAS VM on Proxmox.
The SAS controller has pass-through and everything tested fine so I put it into production at our small office. Some co-workers have noticed that some times opening or saving Microsoft Office files directly on the FreeNAS will take several seconds (5-10). Our previous server this same work would be instantaneous.
Does anyone have an idea on where I should start the troubleshooting?

The Proxmox has 10Gb connectivity. The client Window's machines will sustain 100+MBps r/w speeds.
FreeNAS has two 6 drive RAIDz2 vdev's. 6 vCPU, and 36Gb for RAM.

Thanks!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Is it possible that the system is doing a sync write instead of asynchronous?

tl5k5

Cadet
@Chris Moore I'm no expert when it comes to FreeNAS. Can you point me to where this is located and how to change if needed? Google shows some command line options.
Thanks!

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
It is covered as part of the creation of the dataset in the manual: http://doc.freenas.org/11/storage.html#create-dataset

upload_2018-5-31_15-44-49.png

I was also thinking that something in the virtualization layer may have caused the communication to the NAS to be synchronous.
I don't know about Proxmox.
Is it possible to test the FreeNAS on bare metal?

tl5k5

Cadet
Thanks...if it were a snake...
I have set Sync to disabled on the dataset and asked a co-worker to test it.

I can test bare metal if ALL else fails. I over bought so I could run a hypervisor. I hope I can figure this out! :-/

I appreciate your help!

[UPDATE]
Co-worker reports back that the issue is still there.

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
If there's anything in this configuration that is forcing sync write, a Separate ZFS Intent Log (SLOG) would be an answer.
There are some configuration options we could look at first, but I have seen write performance improve with a fast SLOG.