Slow VM's on TrueNAS SCALE

WikingDK

Dabbler
Hi there.
So I'm quite a novice at TrueNAS SCALE, but not in virtual servers.
I have TrueNAS i just build, following specs:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
RAM: 48GB
Motherboard: MSI Tomahawk b450 MAX (Running the newest BIOS)
SSD: 2x1TB WD Red in RAID1.

As I'm quite new in TrueNAS, i created a VM just for testing, and the VM is extreamly slow.
So, i seached the net, and found drivers for VirtIO, and changed drives and NIC to VirtIO.
Also i tried with and without CPU "Host Passthru".

But the VM is still sluggish.
The VM is Windows 10, i tried diffrent CPU configurations with CPU's, threads and threds, same issues.
6G RAM, not using all of it.

In the VM, i see that task manager uses nearly 100% CPU on all cores at the same time.
So i went to the dashboard, and i find that CPU core 4 is at 100%, all other cores are practicaly at zero.
I started Googling the "Only one CPU used" and found many issues with older Intel server CPU's that had a limit.

Can anyone here give input, on what I'm missing?

WikingDK

Dabbler
I forgot to attach photos of the CPU usage, i think it looks weird.

Attachments

• TrueNAS CPU.png
    TrueNAS CPU.png
    10.8 KB · Views: 145
  • VM CPU.png
    VM CPU.png
    17.3 KB · Views: 173

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
What are the settings for the VM? CPUs, Cores, Threads?

WikingDK

Dabbler
What are the settings for the VM? CPUs, Cores, Threads?
Hi Sretalla.
As I wrote, i have tried a lot of diffrent configurations. But my current settings is CPU 2, cores 2 and threds 2.

50GB SSD drive.
And 8GB RAM.

There is also running a pihole. But that is all running on the machine.

Jens.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
CPU 2, cores 2 and threds 2
OK, but you see that this makes 8 threads right?

It's usually not good to use more than 1 CPU.

2 cores and 2 threads would mean 4 threads in total and that's probably a good place to start from to see if things work well.

WikingDK

Dabbler