Slow SMB browsing with 9.2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Imslow

Dabbler
Hi all,

I started playing with freenas about 3 months ago with the 9.2 release and really like it. My IT background is very poor but I believe I am learning fast. I long hesitated to post this question and it is only after some time reading posts and never beeing satisfied with the answers that I decided to come with the following question:

Problem to be solved: I am having extremely slow SMB/CIFS folder browsing with folders containing several thousand files. Typically, it will take up to 30 seconds to display 10 000 files using Windows Explorer.

My system: I am using a donated entry level computer with consumer parts as follows, I just bought enough RAM to meet freenas minimum requirements; primary usage is limited to backup, file sharing and video streaming.
_Zotac H87 motherboard, Pentium G3220,
_ 16Gb (2*8Gb) Samsung DDR3 RAM ,
_ 2x3TB in RAID1 WD Green in ZFS (only encryption is enabled),
_ Used freenas 9.2 64bits with CIFS and recently moved to 9.2.1.2 with same issue,
_ Gigabit network, using D-Link DIR-850L router
_ Clients are 1x smart TV and 2x Windows 7 64 home edition computers.
_ Don’t use any fancy AUX parameters,

Questions:
Cost is primary concern.
How can I improve the performances of my system?

Thank you for your advices.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Well, you're already breaking many of our cardinal rules..

-non-ECC RAM
-not a server grade motherboard.
-almost certainly not using an Intel NIC
-Using a G3220 with encryption(that CPU doesn't support AES-NI).

To be honest, I'm not really sure where to begin. Granted the first and second aren't likely to be part of your problem, but so many small nuances come into play when using non-recommended hardware I'm really not sure where to even point you.

Imslow

Dabbler
Dear forum guard,
Thank you very much for your fast reply.