Slow response and excessive reorganizing on 26TB system

Status
Not open for further replies.

edatmpa

Cadet
I am new to using Freenas and have the following configuration

FreeNAS Build FreeNAS-8.0.3-RELEASE-p1-x64 (9591)
Platform AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 260 Processor
Memory 16113MB
System Time Tue Jan 8 15:27:35 2013
Uptime 3:27PM up 2 days, 11:22, 0 users
Load Average 0.21, 0.20, 0.10
OS Version FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE-p6

with 5x2TB internal disks and 8x2TB in 2 external bays for a total available space as show in storage page below

jbod /mnt/jbod 15.9 TiB (76%) 4.8 TiB 20.6 TiB HEALTHY

The files are large usually 1GB up each. I am booting from a 4GB USB drive.

The system has been running fine for 6 months with very decent read/write speed between 30-60MB per sec.

However every so often (say, once every 2 weeks of usage as it is not always up and running) it goes into a self read/write (reorganizing?) mode indicated by constant red light on the disk activity for all disk units for about 3 days. That's 3x24 hours! I cannot determine what it''s doing because I do not know where to look except in the System Process screen which only says, 44 processes 1 running with no particular determinable process as it changes. During this time it becomes almost non-responsive so as to sometimes appear to Windows to be offline. The speed W/R speed drops down to less than 1MB per sec and become unusable. After 3 days it goes back to normal state and works great again.

I would appreciate any advice and understanding on what it's doing and how to improve. I would also like to hear from user with this large a storage in home environment.
Thanks.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
It's probably doing a pool scrub.

What does "zpool status" say from the shell when this is going on?

Code:
freenas# zpool status
  pool: yourpool
 state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub in progress since Tue Jan  8 18:05:44 2013
        83.5M scanned out of 9.77T at 5.97M/s, 476h44m to go
        0 repaired, 0.00% done