SOLVED Slow CIFS write speed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iz Oz

Cadet
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
8
Hello,

I am new to FreeNAS and am not all that savvy with the technical side of things, but I'm a quick learner. I have been doing my best to read through various posts of similar issues so that I could solve this on my own but have hit a stopping point. The issue I'm having is slow write speeds (~10 mb/s) when I'm trying to copy over files from my windows computer over to my FreeNAS. I have my windows computer and FreeNAS connected to my router (Netgear N600) and I have setup a static IP for my FreeNAS.

Here is the hardware for my FreeNAS box:
-SuperMicro X10SL7-F-O
-Xeon E3-1220V3
-32GB Crucial unbuffered ECC memory
-6x's HGST Deskstar HDD (4TB)

I have all 6 drives in RaidZ2 and the dataset which I try to copy to have the following setting
Share Type: Windows
Enable atime: Inherit (on)
ZFS Deduplication: Inherit (off)

I have ran some dd command (with compression off) that is commonly recommended in other posts and are shown below,
Code:
[root@freenas ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/IAO_Storage/DDTest/ddfile.tmp bs=2048k count=50k                                                                     
51200+0 records in                                                             
51200+0 records out                                                             
107374182400 bytes transferred in 174.489828 secs (615360698 bytes/sec)


I also ran iperf both ways:
Code:
bin/iperf.exe -c 192.168.1.5 -P 1 -i 1 -p 5001 -f k -t 10
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.5, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[336] local 192.168.1.9 port 49935 connected with 192.168.1.5 port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[336]  0.0- 1.0 sec  11496 KBytes  94175 Kbits/sec
[336]  1.0- 2.0 sec  11560 KBytes  94700 Kbits/sec
[336]  2.0- 3.0 sec  11496 KBytes  94175 Kbits/sec
[336]  3.0- 4.0 sec  11408 KBytes  93454 Kbits/sec
[336]  4.0- 5.0 sec  11512 KBytes  94306 Kbits/sec
[336]  5.0- 6.0 sec  11512 KBytes  94306 Kbits/sec
[336]  6.0- 7.0 sec  11456 KBytes  93848 Kbits/sec
[336]  7.0- 8.0 sec  11560 KBytes  94700 Kbits/sec
[336]  8.0- 9.0 sec  11432 KBytes  93651 Kbits/sec
[336]  9.0-10.0 sec  11576 KBytes  94831 Kbits/sec


Code:
bin/iperf.exe -s -P 0 -i 1 -p 5001 -f k
------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[468] local 192.168.1.9 port 5001 connected with 192.168.1.5 port 49436
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[468]  0.0- 1.0 sec  11464 KBytes  93911 Kbits/sec
[468]  1.0- 2.0 sec  11495 KBytes  94166 Kbits/sec
[468]  2.0- 3.0 sec  11481 KBytes  94050 Kbits/sec
[468]  3.0- 4.0 sec  11526 KBytes  94421 Kbits/sec
[468]  4.0- 5.0 sec  11492 KBytes  94143 Kbits/sec
[468]  5.0- 6.0 sec  11411 KBytes  93483 Kbits/sec
[468]  6.0- 7.0 sec  11485 KBytes  94085 Kbits/sec
[468]  7.0- 8.0 sec  11550 KBytes  94618 Kbits/sec
[468]  8.0- 9.0 sec  11488 KBytes  94108 Kbits/sec
[468]  9.0-10.0 sec  11522 KBytes  94386 Kbits/sec
[468]  0.0-10.0 sec  115072 KBytes  94102 Kbits/sec


Based on the tests I ran, I don't see where the problem is. Also, I tried turning off the firewall on my computer completely (along with antivirus) to see if that would help, and I still get slow write speeds. Like I said at the beginning, I have hit a stopping point.

Any help would much appreciated and let me know if I need to provide additional information.
Thanks
 

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
1,338
Code:
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[336]  0.0- 1.0 sec  11496 KBytes  94175 Kbits/sec

Your network connection seems to run in 100MBit mode. With GBit the iperf numbers in the Bandwith column should be higher by an order of magnitude. What's the output of ifconfig igb0 on your FreeNAS box?
 

skyyxy

Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
136
I have same problem with smb cifs share, but still have some different between "LZ OZ".
My Freenas server box build on :Xeon 2670v1/32gb working memory/8 disks with raidz/2* intel x520 da2 dual ports (totally 4 prots and not use LACP)
The Client is:
A for Windows7 64 PC: i3 3240/8gb memory/WD black 1TB/Intel x520 da1 10Gb 1 prot
B for Windows10 64 PC:I5 4460/16GB memory/ST 2TB/Intel X520 da1 10gb 1prot
C for MacPro: Mac Pro6,1- 6cores/e5-1650v2/32gb memory/512gb ssd/2xAMD graphiccards with promise thunderblot2 to 10Gb adapter.
all machines use sfp+ cable to directlly connect without any router or switch or hub.

Test environment: AJA system test 2.1 (win and mac both)
open CIFS,ISCSI,AFP on Freenas server and test all

CIFS with SMB result:
Mac Pro test: around 1GB/s write and read, very good.
Windows7: 850mb/s read 320mb/s write not okey!
Windows 10: 860mb/s read 310mb/s write not okey!

ISCSI just under win machines result:
Windows7: 980mb/s read 1050mb/s write very good!
Windows10: 990mb/s read 1030mb/s write very good!

AFP just under Macpro result:
880mb/s write 950mb/s write very good!

I really confused why the CIFS/SMB such bad write performance under Windows OS. I sure my Freenas server working good otherwise also poor performance under MAC OSX smb connect but its really good.
If I need to do some SMB tune under Windows or something else? Anybody knows it? Thanks a lot advance.
 

Iz Oz

Cadet
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
8
Here is what I get. [Note that my Ethernet (on FreeNAS) is plugged into igb1, so I gave you both just in case you really meant igb1]
Code:
igb0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500                                                        
        options=403bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,VLAN_HWTSO>                            
        ether 0c:c4:7a:ac:2d:2c                                                                                                    
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>                                                                                      
        media: Ethernet autoselect                                                                                                
        status: no carrier 

Code:
igb1: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500                                                
        options=400b8<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,VLAN_HWTSO>                                                    
        ether 0c:c4:7a:ac:2d:2d                                                                                                    
        inet 192.168.1.5 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255                                                                
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>                                                                                      
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)                                                                      
        status: active
 

Valdhor

Explorer
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
70
It's right there on line 6. You're running 100MBit instead of 1000MBit. You do have a Gigabit switch right?
 

Iz Oz

Cadet
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
8
I am new to networking so I appreciate the help and input. The onboard NIC on my windows computer (mobo: Maximus VII Hero) is 10/100/1000Mbps and my router (Netgear N600 Model WNDR3400) says 'Gigabit Ethernet' but the specs state 10/100Mbps. I took the 'Gigabit Ethernet' to mean that I had 1000Mbps capability, but I guess not.

So I believe my router is to blame for the slow write speeds, is this conclusion correct? If so are there any good Gigabit routers that would be recommended?

Also, this may be a naïve question, buy why would a 100Mbps connection not give me better than 11Mb/s that I 0currently write at? I would think that I would be able to write at least at 100Mbps since my router is rated for that. I know that routers are mainly intended for other jobs whereas switches are for throughput, but I still think I should get better than 11Mb/s.

Once again, thanks for input.
 
Last edited:

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Moderator
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
2,478
I am new to networking so I appreciate the help and input. The onboard NIC on my windows computer (mobo: Maximus VII Hero) is 10/100/1000Mbps and my router (Netgear N600 Model WNDR3400) says 'Gigabit Ethernet' but the specs state 10/100Mbps. I took the 'Gigabit Ethernet' to mean that I had 1000Mbps capability, but I guess not. So I believe my router is to blame for the slow write speeds, is this conclusion correct? If so are there any good Gigabit routers that would be recommended?
Yes... Netgear's website states that the N600 WNDR3400 has 10/100bps ethernet ports, so you are getting the best performance the device is capable of delivering. For gigabit ethernet you will need to buy a new router.
 

jlpellet

Patron
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
287
2 points - 1st, I think the write speeds quoted are in bytes but the connection speed is bits so you're seeing different # due to different units & 2nd, assuming you like your router, you can add an inexpensive gig switch for your devices that then connects to the router just for outbound traffic. I've had good luck with the under-$40 8-port unmanaged switches. Hope this helps.
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,421
get a nice simple switch like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122128
they can be found for less if you find a sale or shop around. I usually get my 8 port switches for ~$20usd.

you are getting a little confused with the types of numbers you are looking at, to help explain, 100mb/s(megabits) is equal to 12MB/s(megabytes). There are 8 bits to a byte so if you take 100mb/s divided by 8 you get 12.5 which is about the 11MB/s you are seeing after some overhead.
 

Iz Oz

Cadet
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
8
Thanks for all the help. I knew I could solve this issue with the right inputs. This solved my problem. I am now seeing +100MB/s. I don't think I could have figured this out myself. Thank you so much. I'm sure I'll be back a later time with more questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top