SFP+ Transceivers?

dev_willis

Dabbler
Hi!
I just recently bought a shiny new TrueNAS Mini XL+ and I want to set it up on a subnet with two desktops using SFP+. I've never worked with fiber before but I have read jgreco's excellent 10 Gig Networking Primer thread, among other things. I picked up the MikroTik 5-port switch and I've identified some OM3 patch cable and now I'm trying to identify the proper transceivers to use.

So, my question: do I understand correctly that I need two transceivers per cable, one for each end, and so a total of six of them to connect all three machines to the switch? And that it's best to avoid knock-offs and buy Intel? If all that's right, where is the best place to buy them? Most everything I can find says "Intel compatible" which says to me it's a knock-off. The only thing I've been able to find that's for sure Intel is this one but if I'm going to need six of them that price is pretty steep. If that's what it is then that's what it is but I didn't want to go spending $800 on this without checking to make sure I was doing the right thing.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

dev_willis

Dabbler
Is it actually important to use Intel optics (when people say "optics," they're talking about the transceivers, right?)? Or is it the PCIe card that's important to have be Intel? Or is it both? I read somewhere that Intel cards won't work with non-Intel optics. The TrueNAS mini and our new desktop from Puget came with the cards they need already installed but I will have to get a card for the existing desktop we have. I was planning to get this one.

If I could buy something like this Microreer cable that would be great. But will it work (and work well) if I plug it into an Intel card? I'm afraid the answer is "no." I'm a firm believer in the you-get-what-you-pay-for principle and the price seems too good to be true. Plus, I've never heard of Microreer.

BTW, sorry for the multiple posts--I don't see a way to edit my previous posts.