Server hardware question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fuganater

Patron
So I am a net admin by day, gamer by night. None of which require me to have server hardware knowledge. I have researched for several days and I think I know what I am looking for but before spending the bennies, I want to make sure.

So the writing of this might suck a bit because I am jumping around as I am writing it... sorry.

I am totally redoing my server and NAS setups. Currently I am using Windows 7 as my server but I am going to format my primary server with FreeNAS which means I need to do some hardware changes. Let me make this first point, power cost does not matter, only efficiency.

This server will host all my files which is currently about 15 TB of 28TB (Raw storage counting parity drives). I am using 3TB WD RE drives. My case can hold 12 HDD so I only need 3 more to max it out. It also will host Plex for my household so I want to be able to have several devices using it at the same time. I want to do at least 32GB of RAM to keep up with my growing storage.

So I first looked at:
Supermicro X9SRL-F $270
Heatsink $40
Intel Zeon E5-2603 V3 $219 or the Intel Xeon E5-2620 v3 $430
32GB Mushkin ECC RAM $210

This mobo supports 10 HDD which doesn't really matter because I may get an Intel RAID Expander Card (RES2SV240) which supports 24 drives. I am getting this for future use. It also supports more than enough RAM because I may do something more with the system in years to come. A downside is that this is using old DDR3 RAM and not DDR4, not a huge issue but I wanted to keep this pretty updated for "future proof". (I know that is a myth but if I can get more updated hw now, I won't have to as quickly later)

Will I notice that big of a difference between the 2603 and the 2620? I know Plex says they need a 2000 PassMark score to work which both of these surpass.