Seriously studying how to move most operations of my servers to FreeNAS

polbel

Cadet
Hi,
i have been dabbling into freeNAS (and freeBSD) concepts for a few years and i find it amazing how fast improvements have been coming. Same goes for hardware; looking at the asus knpa-u16 motherboard with an Epyc CPU (128-lanes PCIe) for an affordable AI server running freeNAS/freeBSD with 7x2TB NVMe for short-term storage, 12x14TB in Z2 long-term storage, GTX 1070 graphics card for deep learning processing of the scimag library (presently at 75 million articles). I regret having spent over 3 decades trying to master the quirks of windows and its server versions (and messy licensing) when i see how much can be done for free, legally with freeNAS now. i wish i knew as much about freeNAS as i know about windows.

Right now i am scratching my head installing urBackup server in a jail on a 2U case with a Xeon E3-1260L v5 CPU and 8x4TB WD Red Z2-array. i managed installing freeNAS 11.2 U4 on a mirror of 2x64GB usb3 keys after a few hours. What took the longest was figuring the windows bluescreen at the end of preparing the usb install key did not prevent using it to do the install (even if inserting it in any windows machine caused instant bluescreens, mac did not complain at all). Once that hurdle is passed, i will try virtualizing the domain controller of the senior house where it will be doing automated backups of all the PCs the 75 residents and 12 administrators are using. I put a 1TB NVMe on the motherboard to get as fast as possible operations from that virtualized domain controller and other emergency virtualization that might be necessary. i hope i am not too ambitious...

Yorick

Wizard
Never have I had a BSOD by inserting a USB key. Something’s not right with those Windows machines. Possibly autoplay settings or just the versioning of Windows.