Scale Setup Best Practices

MurtaghsNAS

Dabbler
I am new to TrueNAS, and have been trying to absorb enough wisdom to setup my home Scale setup correctly. Before going too far and getting myself up a creek, I would like to present my intended hardware architecture for peer review. Please, if these plans are problematic, stop me before I make a fool of myself.

I plan on 4 pools:
1) I have a 500GB NVME drive I want to partition for the Boot drive and VM storage. My current plan is 50GB for the boot drive. I know that is very generous over the recommended 8GB, but I am planning long-term. 50GB gives plenty of space for Scale to grow, and really, I won't fill the other partition with VMs with my current needs.
2) The rest of the NVME drive I am going to setup as a ZRAID0 partition. It is intended as a high performance partition for virtualization operation/storage. I do realize I am in a high-risk configuration because of my lack of redundancy. I intend on mitigating this by doing user data storage as much as possible in the main storage pool, performing intense backups, and accepting the loss risk. This system is a personal server. My current plans call for Nextcloud, and 2-3 VMs. I can survive a wipeout of this pool. I do have the ability to upgrade this to a mirrored configuration, but that is currently a future plan only.
3) The main storage pool is four 6TB SATA traditional hard drives. This is mostly a media library and personal file storage. I intend on it being ZRAID1.
4) Once everything is stable with this new system, I am intending on decommissioning my current QNAP NAS. I plan on harvesting its four 1TB drives and forming a second ZRAID1 pool. Obviously I can't mirror the entirety of the main storage, but I can duplicate high-value files here to defend against total pool failure on the Main storage. Later on in the life cycle, I will replace these drives with new drives to form a new primary storage pool, and use the current main storage as its backup.