SATA best practices?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rvassar

Guru
So I got to experience my first FreeNAS unplanned disk failure / replacement event over the weekend. I lost a nearly 6 year old 3Tb HGST drive on my 2 vdev mirror pool in the early hours of Friday morning. This left the vdev relying on a months old Toshiba drive that I have little operational experience or trust in, and no replacement sitting on the shelf. I had been performing science experiments on a 3-disk raidz pool made up of odd 2Tb drives I had laying around, so I wiped the raid pool, took a snapshot of the mirror pool and set up a, “zfs send | zfs receive” job, and left for work. At lunch, I stopped by Fry’s and grabbed the only 3Tb disk they had on the shelf, a WD “Red” NAS disk (interestingly the 4Tb drives were all sold out). Once back home I placed it in a USB3 external case, attached it to a Linux host, and gave it an overnight badblocks sweep, followed by a long SMART self test. While this was going on, FreeNAS was up and available, and had completed my hasty snapshot replication.