Replication task speed at 3.50M...

Status
Not open for further replies.

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
FreeNAS v. 9.2.1.3 replication speed NO COMMENT :( :mad::mad::mad:

Code:
NAS# zpool iostat 1
              capacity    operations    bandwidth
pool        alloc  free  read  write  read  write
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      15.9G  16.2T      0    61    406  2.99M
storage    1.98T  14.3T    31    10  2.86M  53.2K
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      15.9G  16.2T      0    323      0  18.7M
storage    1.98T  14.3T    28      0  3.62M      0
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      15.9G  16.2T      0      0      0      0
storage    1.98T  14.3T    27      0  3.50M  128K
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      15.9G  16.2T      0      0      0      0
storage    1.98T  14.3T    27      0  3.50M      0
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
https://bugs.freenas.org/issues/4620

If you pull the current autorepl.py file from GitHub and replace the one on your FreeNAS appliance it will fix the speed. That is what I did for now. I went from 8Mbps to 500Mbps. The issue is python is capping your CPU.
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
This is the last commit I pulled from GitHub:
https://github.com/freenas/freenas/commit/1c39abc1fc632817ca02a9c9c68b34453a4d376e

So the autorepl.py from that commit will work.

So these commands would get you there:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/freenas/freenas.git
cd freenas
git checkout 1c39abc1fc632817ca02a9c9c68b34453a4d376e
scp gui/tools/autorepl.py root@yourfreenasIP:/mnt/yourpool/autorepl.py


Then log into FreeNAS via SSH and mount the filesystem as rw and copy the autorepl.py file from your pool to (rough idea, can't connect to my system to double check the path):
Code:
/usr/local/www/freenasGUI/tools/autorepl.py
 

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
Would I make a big mistake if I downloaded autorepl.py via web browser from latest Github then upload that file to FreeNAS via WinSCP?
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
That may work, depends on what changes they have made since the version I'm using. I'll pull the current copy and do a diff to check.
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
Nothing has changed, so yes that will work.
 

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
I followed this procedure:

1) downloaded latest ZIP from GitHub;

2) uncompressed the autorepl.py found here in the ZIP file: freenas-master.zip\freenas-master\gui\tools

3) SSH into FreeNAS box and mount the filesystem to write:
mount -uw /

4) Opened WinSCP and cd into this dir
/usr/local/www/freenasUI/tools/

5) deleted the existing autorepl.py

6) copied the downloaded autorepl.py

7) changed its permissions via WinSCP GUI to owner and group "www"
(this is very important!)

8) reverted the filesystem to read-only
mount -ur /

9) reboot

done.

Now the problem is that the GUI - in the ZFS Replication section - doesn't show me that replication is running and the percentage reached. I know that replication is going on because into /var/run there is the autorepl.pid and zpool iostat 1 shows me

PHP:
NAS# zpool iostat 1
              capacity    operations    bandwidth
pool        alloc  free  read  write  read  write
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      231G  16.0T      2  1.88K  9.55K  148M
storage    1.99T  14.3T  1.36K    16  140M  82.7K
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      231G  16.0T      6  1.80K  27.8K  161M
storage    1.99T  14.3T  1.39K      0  177M      0
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      231G  16.0T      7  1.91K  31.9K  175M
storage    1.99T  14.3T  1.37K    175  173M  737K
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
backup      232G  16.0T      7  1.97K  30.6K  186M
storage    1.99T  14.3T  1.40K      0  177M      0
----------  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----  -----
 

Sir.Robin

Guru
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
554
Think i will wait for 9.2.1.4... :-/


Sent from my mobile using Tapatalk
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
Does top show an ssh process maxing your CPU?

Also I never modified the permissions of the file after uploading it.

What is the output from:
ls /tmp
 

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
Does top show an ssh process maxing your CPU?

Also I never modified the permissions of the file after uploading it.

What is the output from:
ls /tmp


1) These are the first rows of top output

PHP:
NAS# top
last pid: 12480;  load averages:  6.23,  6.22,  5.80    up 0+00:44:18  13:30:00
60 processes:  3 running, 57 sleeping
CPU: 18.9% user,  0.0% nice, 22.7% system,  1.0% interrupt, 57.3% idle
Mem: 322M Active, 201M Inact, 24G Wired, 3756K Cache, 126M Buf, 6496M Free
ARC: 22G Total, 1151M MFU, 21G MRU, 27M Anon, 144M Header, 136M Other
Swap: 24G Total, 24G Free
 
  PID USERNAME    THR PRI NICE  SIZE    RES STATE  C  TIME  WCPU COMMAND
9844 root          1  98    0 69524K  8804K CPU0    0  32:36 90.77% sshd
9843 root          1  98    0 38340K  5280K CPU4    4  32:30 90.48% ssh
9841 root          1  26    0  9908K  2636K pipdwt  6  4:33 10.60% dd
9842 root          1  25    0  9908K  2632K pipdwt  3  3:49 10.06% dd
9847 root          1  25    0 37588K  3060K piperd  2  3:31  9.08% zfs
9839 root          2  20    0 66904K  3672K nanslp  2  2:53  6.59% zfs
12479 root          1  22    0  327M 22280K select  2  0:00  0.10% smbd
3350 root          6  20    0  411M  154M usem    4  0:10  0.00% python2.7
6488    972      14  35  15  288M 72084K select  5  0:07  0.00% python



2) I modified the permissions because the original autorepl.py file had that permissions, so I thought that I had to set those back.



3) ls /tmp output

PHP:
NAS# ls /tmp
.repl_progress_1                                ixdiagnose_boot.log                            sessionidg9j45afamg8ogk63phmu70qkmh0jxx3d
alert                                          nginx                                          tmp.PWrOiO
firmware                                        rc.conf.freenas                                vi.recover
freenas_config.md5                              repl-9796
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
What is the output of:
Code:
cat /tmp/.repl_progress_1
 

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
What is the output of:
Code:
cat /tmp/.repl_progress_1

output of cat /tmp/.repl_progress_1

9839NAS#

this is the output of ps -A | grep zfs

NAS# ps -A | grep zfs
415 ?? DL 0:49.17 [zfskern]
9839 ?? S 6:13.97 zfs: sending storage/media@auto-20140329.0900-2w (63%: 929334492064/1462808578552) (zfs)
9846 ?? Is 0:00.00 bash -c /sbin/zfs receive -F -d backup && echo Succeeded
9847 ?? S 7:31.44 /sbin/zfs receive -F -d backup
14683 0 S+ 0:00.00 grep zfs
 

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
358
I'm not sure why your GUI isn't updating but everything else looks good.
 

panz

Guru
Joined
May 24, 2013
Messages
556
Maybe because - after replication started - I edited the Periodic Snapshot Task (changing the hour)? This shouldn't affect the replication in progress, but...
 

Sir.Robin

Guru
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
554
Might be. I had a replication going without gui saying so the other day messing around but not changing any files...


Sent from my mobile using Tapatalk
 

dwoodard3950

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
18
Is it possible to have autorepl.py reloaded without a reboot? I have a system with a dozen active nfs users and I don't want to reboot while trying to fix the replication issues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top