Replication not working on new FREENAS Servers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kkaplan

Cadet
Hi, I am new to Freenas so I hope you can bear with me.

We are trying to setup a very simple server system, with 2 FREENAS Servers, 1 as a primary and the other as backup. We are trying to use the primary as a "PUSH" server and use the FREENAS automated snapshots and replication task to create a backup onto a "PULL" server.

We tried this in a test environment and everything was successful. When I moved to the production environment the first few replications were also successful. From then on it has been failing.

The latest error from the replication task on the primary is
TIMEOUT SERVER "ip address" NOT RESPONDING.

*********************************************************************************
The System Details

We have setup 2 FREENAS Servers that have identical hardware
Build FreeNAS-9.2.1.7-RELEASE-x86 (fdbe9a0)
Platform Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU @ 3.20GHz
Memory 3450MB

Each Server has a single 1TB drive with a single ZFS volume formated as STRIPE

Server1 (primary) has
Volume: FILESERVER
DataSet: FILESVDS

Server 2 (bkup) has
Volume; FILESVBKUP
Dataset BKUPDS

The snapshot task on the primary is set to create snapshots every 4 hours 8am - 6pm
The replication task is set to run 7pm - 1159pm

**************************************************************************************
I recently tried removing the Dataset and Volume (BKUPDS and FILESVBKUP) from
the bkup ("PULL") server and reestablishing them.

Of course that process also deleted the 3 replicated snapshots that were already on
the bkup server. With the BKUP ("PULL") server now empty, i changed the time on the replication task
to allow it all day. Then changed the automated snapshot to 15min. I saw a new snapshot
on the primary server, and the replication task started. I then reverted the automated snapshot
task back to 4hours. The replication on the primary continued for a while and then