Record size confusion

Computer8080

Cadet
So I am quite new to FreeNAS and a complete noob in ZFS, so I might be completely misunderstanding some things. So I created my ZFS pool and datasets a while ago, but as far as I remeber, I used the default settings. So I finnaly got arround to backing up my stuff to the NAS and I noticed that the "Size" and "Size on disk" as reported by the "Properties" in file explorer for some of my files are quite diffrent. So I started digging into it and noticed that even a 136 B file takes up 1 MB on the disk. This, if I understand correctly would mean that the record size is 1 MB. I checked the pool and dataset settings and the "Record size" setting is set to 128k.

explorer_2020-01-26_22-16-47.png
explorer_2020-01-27_00-02-53.png

So am I missing or completely misunderstanding something, or is this just a windows thing and it isincorectly reported?

RickH

Explorer
So am I missing or completely misunderstanding something, or is this just a windows thing and it isincorectly reported?

This is a 'Windows thing' and isn't a cause for concern. I'm not sure exactly what causes the reporting discrepency - but I'm storing 120+ TB of data on several FreeNAS servers and have observed this on all of them - the overall usage on the FreeNAS servers is as expected and despite the 1M reporting in Windows - the files don't seem to be consuming extra space on the servers.

Computer8080

Cadet
Thanks for your response. Yesterday I upgraded to FreeNAS 11.3 and it now shows up correctly. Not sure if the update itself fixed it or just the reboot, but thanks anyway.

William Bravin

Contributor
Hello all

I just migrated from freenas to truenas. I have a simple set up to manage my media. I use the KISS system to make my life as easy as possible .

Therefore I have one pool and 4 datasets to seggregate my media and documents. all datasets on both server are identical up to the spelling.