Read data from disk used by zfs pool

Status
Not open for further replies.

robbyls

Cadet
I have previously set up a FreeNAS server at home, using two disks mirrored by zfs pool. Recently one disk started to have problems and before I try to make any fix, I would like to copy the files to a Linux machine.

I am new to ZFS and I am kind of scared because it seems no easy way to read the files from the disk directly. What if I lost one of the disks, my data will be gone forever?

Can anyone advise me how to get my data back? Assuming now I only have one of the disks originally forming a zfs pool.

gpsguy

Since you have 2 disks in a mirror, you should be able to copy the data off the system disk, with the system up. Just use whatever protocol you currently use.

To replace the drive - please follow the instructions in the manual. Since you don't mention what version of FreeNAS you are using, here's a link to the documenation: http://doc.freenas.org/

Apollo

Wizard
I have previously set up a FreeNAS server at home, using two disks mirrored by zfs pool. Recently one disk started to have problems and before I try to make any fix, I would like to copy the files to a Linux machine.

I am new to ZFS and I am kind of scared because it seems no easy way to read the files from the disk directly. What if I lost one of the disks, my data will be gone forever?

Can anyone advise me how to get my data back? Assuming now I only have one of the disks originally forming a zfs pool.
You loose your ZFS pool and you will not be able to recover any of its content.

Which version of Freenas are you using? If you are running 9.3 then the new hot spare replacement will take care of that for you. You need to add a disk of same or larger capacity than the one used on your pool and set it as a spare to the current mirrored pool. Resilver will occur .
If you want to make an image copy without replacing the drive, then replication locally or remotely over the network is the way to go.