RAM Requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi

I'm planning in using FreeNAS os an hardware the only supports 4GB RAM, with the 1 drive for FreeNAS, and plus 2 in mirror or 3 in raid-z1
I know that 4GB RAM is below the minimum requirements, I would like to know what can I expect with only this amount of RAM, if it's a critical problem and I'm in risk of losing data, or if it's only related performance.

Best Regards,
António Henriques

icsy7867

Contributor
You are the low side of things. I have heard many generalized rules here. Some say 16GB or bust, but another rule I have heard is 4GB + 1GB/TB of storage. So if you have 3x 1TB drives, you should be looking at a "requirement" of 7GB of ram.

You also should really be running ECC memory. I recently had to wipe one of my zpool's because I had an error in meta-data which I am fairly confident was a ram issue. I ordered 16GB DDR3 ECC memory right after! with the way ZFS works (And I am no expert), it is RAM hungry. And by hungry I mean starving. It will use as much ram as you give it and I think you are going to run into some problems with only 4GB.

You may want to look into FreeNAS's sister product Nas4Free.
http://www.freenas.org/freenas-vs-nas4free/

There are other alternatives out there as well that will stick to the more conventional Raid1/5/6/10 etc, that will be far less ram hungry. But I must say, after getting a decent freenas setup and learning how to use IOHYVE/BHYVE and the jail system I dont know if I can use anything else in the future. My FreeNas box does Plex, Owncloud, 2x Deluge clients, Openvpn access and some other things. I love it and you can get a decent setup for only a few hundred dollars.

m0nkey_

MVP
Hi

I'm planning in using FreeNAS os an hardware the only supports 4GB RAM, with the 1 drive for FreeNAS, and plus 2 in mirror or 3 in raid-z1