RAIDZ2 volume smaller size than expected. Did I do something wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

darkod

Dabbler
Hello all.
Complete novice with FreeNAS here. I downloaded the latest 8.2.0 version yesterday and I'm trying it out in Virtual Box. Apart from the OS disk, I created in Vbox 6 disks of 4GiB each. Maybe this is part of the problem, did I make the disks too small for a real test?

In FreeNAS in Volume Manager I selected all disks, the ZFS option and then the offered RAIDZ2 option. All good so far.

But the volume was created with only 7.8GiB available, barely the size of two disks, not 4 as I expected (you lose 2 out of the 6 for parity). Also, the space is so much smaller that this isn't a question of GB vs GiB.

What did I do wrong?

The volume manager correctly reports the disks as 4.3GB (which is the same as 4GiB) during the creation of the volume. But the resulting volume is too small. Is this a result of some overhead which cuts a big piece of these small 4GiB disks, so that the space used is much smaller later?

Thanks in advance.
Darko.

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
Oh, not this question, again! A search over the forum would have save the trouble.

FreeNAS created 2gb swap at the beginning of every disk.

darkod

Dabbler
Sorry. I did try a google search which usually picks up forums very good.

Thank you.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Oh, not this question, again! A search over the forum would have save the trouble.

FreeNAS created 2gb swap at the beginning of every disk.

Haha. I KNEW this was coming. I know this answer keeps coming up and I had forgotten the answer(I was sleepy). I was sure someone was going to comment that this question had "come up again".

Saeed A Siddiki

Dabbler
not sound like a douche guys but i need help here - its almost the same question:

my situation:
The hard drives are the regular run of the mill in these capacities - green drives and one WD Blue Drive:

4 X 1TB * = *4
3X 2TB*= *6
2X 3TB *= *6