RAID, vDev, pools, ZFS setup

Isaac039

Cadet
If the title is a bit confusing it's because I'm a but confused on the storage specifics for setuping TrueNAS. I have a lot of years of experience in tech but RAID is one thing that I don't have much experience with.

I have a custom built PC which I'm looking at configuring with TrueNAS Scale. What I'm trying to accomplish is a TrueNAS build that will allow for some universal use with containers, VMs and NAS/storage for the containers, VMs and general file storage to be accessed from my Windows devices.

This is what I'm hoping to do and having some trouble with determining the best way to go about it. I have (4) 4TB hard drives and what I'm looking for is having 8TB, approximately, of storage with redundancy. I'd like to have the best performance possible when copying files and for the VMs/containers. I'm hoping I'd be able to lose one drive then be able to replace without any loss.

So basically I'm hoping for some help and guidance on how to approach doing the configs in TrueNAS to accomplish what I'm wanting to do with my setup.

Thank you in advance.

Arwen

MVP
Local VMs and any external VM storage want a ZFS pool made of Mirrors, to increase IOPS. ZFS pools made of 1 x RAID-Zx vDev have the IOPS, (I/O Operations Per Second), of the slowest device in the vDev. While multiple Mirrored vDevs have as many IOPS as their are Mirrored vDevs.

General purpose storage on the other hand, mostly wants more space per device usage, thus RAID-Zx.

Given just 4 x 4TB HDDs and a desire for 8TB of RAW storage, you have only a few choices;
  • 2 x 2 disk Mirror vDevs, can loose 1 disk each, in each vDev before data loss. 8TB of RAW storage
  • 4 disk RAID-Z1 vDev, can loose 1 disk but not generally recommended for disks larger that say 1TB or 2TB. Not recommended for VMs or external containers. 12TB RAW storage