RAID setups and multiple drive sizes

Status
Not open for further replies.

RHall

Cadet
I'm planning to build a new server and am currently deciding what drives to purchase and how to organize them. I would like to use multiple drive sizes to offset the tendency of drives to fail from the same manufacturing batches. As I am new to RAID, I'm not quite sure about all the ways to go about doing this. My latest idea was to have multiple arrays mirrored, with each array composed of different sized drives in a single pool, but that creates a problem for expansion if I cannot find the same sized drives in the future. What I am looking for is some sort of RAID setup in which differently sized drives can be added and removed. Something like JBOD, but with redundancy. Does anyone have any suggestions for this? Thank you.

ZFS Noob

Contributor
Create a set of mirrored VDevs, like this:
  • vdev consisting of two 1TB drives
  • vdev consisting of two 2TB drives
  • vdev consisting of two 3TB drives
  • Stripe the three vdevs together, so you've got 6TB total space across three mirrors.
Like RAID10, with differently sized disks. Personally I'd just choose 3TB drives and run, but these are your criteria and this seems like an easy way to meet your goals and allow for simple expansion in the future.

joeschmuck

Old Man
My advice if you want to negate the premature failure due to batches is to purchase a few drives from different manufacturers or just different models but using the same capacity. I'm running six WD Red drives, not a single failure. I don't think you have much to worry about from batch run problems. I'd say the issue would be poor shipping getting the drive to your home.

There is no JBOD in this system either.

ric

Contributor
You did such a terrific job on setting up your WD Red HDD.

I purchased four of these WD Red HDD from Newegg and i couldn't get to work at all.