RAID 10 configuration help

Status
Not open for further replies.

DSMDuDE

Cadet
Hello,
I'm pretty new to FreeNAS and learning it as I go along. During my searches I am having a hard time finding anything on how to properly setup RAID 10 environments. I'd like to use this in our production ESXi VMware environment.

Via a Youtube video I have configured the following, but it just does not seem correct:

FreeNASRaid.jpg

Current FreeNAS setup with 18 4TB WD Reds

FreeNASSystem.jpg

Thanks!
Nick Andersen

Last edited:

Dice

Wizard
welcome onboard fella!
If you disregard everything you've "learned" from youtube and start from square one, you'll be fine.
Recommended newbie reads are linked in my signature. Read those. Reference the manual for clarification.
It will be the best invested time you'll have ever done with regards to your data integrity.

cheers

DSMDuDE

Cadet
Thank you for the welcome and introduction information and I will look through it. I am finally posting because from my searching and reading I can not seem to find my answer. Yes, I have tried the Wizard setup selecting Virtualization which shows Raid 10, but nothing happens from there. The reason I linked the Youtube video is because it was really the only source of information I could find that showed maybe how it could be configured, but something just does not feel right and that lead me to this forum for help.

-Nick

Arwen

MVP
In ZFS terminology, a RAID-10 is called Mirrored vDevs, (virtual devices). Basically ZFS
takes disks, (like 2, but can be 3 or more to increase redundancy and read speed), and uses
them as a Mirror virtual device. To get more IOPS, (I/O Operations Per Second), you add
more vDevs, (Mirrored pairs).

VMs, (Virtual Machines), tend to like more IOPSs. So it's a general recommendation to use
several Mirrored vDevs for a ZFS pool layout when designing for VMs.

As for creating Mirrored vDevs from the FreeNAS GUI, sorry, I don't know. Most of my