Problem with portsnap

Status
Not open for further replies.

whatigot1985

Cadet
As per the section. I am new to freeNas. i have been trying to install deluge on my machine. The hitch is i need to use Portsnap update. when i try to use this it does not reconize the command . I have serched for hours and can not fine a way of installing port snap onto the machine so that i can use the commands . Any way of helping a newbie out?

Machine is first gen haswell MB with 8GB ddr3 memory. Intel i5 3330 3Ghz. freenas is installed on a 16gb flash. i also have 2x 2tb wd Red.

thank you to whom ever can help me

danb35

Hall of Famer
Are you using a jail to try to install deluge? If not, you should be. Portsnap should be part of a standard jail in FreeNAS.

Your hardware isn't optimal for FreeNAS, in that it doesn't use ECC RAM, but that's not what's causing your problem.

whatigot1985

Cadet
I believe so. Like I said I'm pretty new. I'm am using ssh to enter the machine . I have have some ecc memory on order snow storm we just had delayed it a bit lol.
what steps do you think i should be following. I am more then open to suggestions.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Your i5 CPU doesn't support ECC, so that won't do you any good. The hardware recommendations are important, but they're not what's causing your problem.

What you should be doing:
  • In web GUI, go to Jails -> Add Jails
  • Enter a name ("deluge" would be good) and click OK. Wait for the process to finish.
  • Do 'jls'. You'll see your jail listed with a number
  • Do 'jexec (number) csh'. If your jail was listed as #1, for example, you'd do 'jexec 1 csh'.
  • You're now in your jail. Run 'portsnap fetch extract' to download the ports tarball and extract it.

whatigot1985

Cadet
well i should say that i created a jail for deluge. but unlike when i installed plex i can not get it to recognize the command

whatigot1985

Cadet
I got

root@Deluge:/usr/ports/net-p2p/deluge # portsnap fetch update