Plex: in over my head

Status
Not open for further replies.

robvandal999

Dabbler
Hello,

I'm extremely new to networking and NAS stuff. I just built my own NAS yesterday and ever since i have been trying to figure out how to get it going. The guides i have come across really aren't newbish enough. They still seem to go over my head. My goal with this NAS was to let me and my father upload our media files we have on our personal computers to it and then stream those files via PLEX. I went into this endeavor because everything i came across made it seem simple. You install FreeNAS and then install the PLEX plugin and that's it! I have installed the current version of FreeNAS, i have installed the PLEX plugin. Now how do i get the media files from my computer to the NAS so PLEX will see those files and add it to the library? I followed a guide on how to set up a FTP server and it seems like i was able to upload a movie file, but i don't think it went to the right place for PLEX to see it. When i go to create a new library playlist, then it asks movie/tv shows/music/etc. I hit movies, then i name it, then it asks to browse for media folder and when i click browse it only shows a PLEX folder which i have no clue where that file location is.

I'm just incredibly lost and feeling like i made a huge mistake. Everyone makes it seem so easy to do this and i feel like an idiot.

PLEASE HELP!

garm

Wizard
In FreeNAS you follow this video and set up users and network shares

https://youtu.be/RxggaE935PM

You then follow the manual and mount the dataset you have the media on to the Plex jail in a folder that Plex can use.

Everything’s explained in the manual.

tvsjr

Guru