Plex + external mount of media drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

equx

Cadet
Hey,

I'm new to FreeNAS, but wanted to try something new for my media server.

I put up a FreeNAS 9.10 + plex media server setup, that have worked great for 3 months now.
But when i upgraded to 11.0, it wouldn't boot, problems with the nfs mount.

That asside, i now want to set up a fresh install of 11.0 and do everything the "correct" way.
There are probably better solutions than what i used for the 9.10 setup.

I have two main "issues" that i hope i can get some feedback on.

1. External mount of drive.

I get it working with running this command:
mount -t nfs 192.168.1.2:/volume1/Filmer /mnt/SSD_240GB/plexmediaserver_1/media

In the 9.10 setup to make it mount automatic after reboot i edited the etc/fstab file with this command:
192.168.1.2:/volume1/Filmer /mnt/SSD_240GB/plexmediaserver_1/media nfs ro 0 0

This worked great in the 9.10 setup, but is this the recommended solution or are there other ways to do it smarter?

2. Plexmediaserver-plexpass
When i manually install plexmediaserver-plexpass i use:
pkg install plexmediaserver-plexpass and then make the service start automatic

To upgrade i use:
pkg upgrade plexmediaserver-plexpass

I don't see it in the plugin gui list but i guess you don't do that when you install it manually.
I get the media server working this way, but do you have to do other things to make the plugin work 100% ?

eldo

Explorer
Hey,

I'm new to FreeNAS, but wanted to try something new for my media server.

I put up a FreeNAS 9.10 + plex media server setup, that have worked great for 3 months now.
But when i upgraded to 11.0, it wouldn't boot, problems with the nfs mount.

That asside, i now want to set up a fresh install of 11.0 and do everything the "correct" way.
There are probably better solutions than what i used for the 9.10 setup.

I have two main "issues" that i hope i can get some feedback on.