Plex Docker NVME drive for volume and transcoding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmcguire525

Explorer
Hi, I'm new to Freenas and starting to do all of my research for my first dedicated server. Here is a list of my hardware and plans

- Asus X99M-WS Motherboard
- Xeon E5 2683v3 CPU
- 32GB DDR4 ECC RAM (with room to upgrade to 64GB)
- 6x8TB WD RED RaidZ2

For now it will mainly be used as a Plex & Get Channels (Live Cablecard TV) server and I want to be able to access and transcode file as quickly as possible. With speed in mind and due to a limited (8) on-board sata connections I thought it may be best to utilize the M.2 slot with an NVME drive.

1. Will the dockers for each program benefit from the speed of an NVME drive?
2. Can both dockers utilize the same drive as their volume and transcoding location?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
"Docker" and "as quickly as possible" are incompatible concepts.

- Asus X99M-WS Motherboard
That's a rather poor choice. Dubious compatibility, limited expansion (especially RAM), lots of useless crap (audio, Bluetooth/WiFi), wasted SATA ports (the PCH provides 10, not just 8).

- Xeon E5 2683v3 CPU
Holy crap, that is one expensive CPU...

1. Will the dockers for each program benefit from the speed of an NVME drive?
I have some doubts that a small fast drive is useful for this application...

jmcguire525

Explorer
"Docker" and "as quickly as possible" are incompatible concepts.

That's a rather poor choice. Dubious compatibility, limited expansion (especially RAM), lots of useless crap (audio, Bluetooth/WiFi), wasted SATA ports (the PCH provides 10, not just 8).

Holy crap, that is one expensive CPU...

I have some doubts that a small fast drive is useful for this application...