Performance increased

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike83

Dabbler
Hi

I am new to FreeNas and recently bought a microserver, I tried FreeNas and Nas4Free, the latter I couldnt get working (didn't connect to my network) so I installed FreeNas 8.2.0 to a usb drive, made my pool etc. But it was very slow writing to it, 9-10mb/s sometimes. The network would go a decent speed for a few seconds then stop for a few seconds.

Today I just upgraded to 8.3.0, created a new pool and activated the windows share. I was suprised it worked full speed, 70-80-90mb/s, with about 40mb/s if I used lzmb compression, this is great but what has changed?? My hardware is exactly the same, why wasn't it working at a good speed in 8.2.0? I can see one difference in 8.3.0 that it lists deduplication when you create volumes. Was that automatically enabled in 8.2.0 ? I wouldn't have enabled it myself, infact I saw no reference to it.

Also what is compression level and enable atime for? Most of the things I will be storing are compressed already, do I need it? I noticed 'inherit' and 'off' are faster than lzjb (recommended) what ones do most people use? Also not sure whether I need atime on inherit , on or off ?

Stephens

Patron
These sounds like great questions to keep in mind while you read the documentation.

mattlach

Patron
From reading the "What's new" section of the FreeNAS 8.3 manual, I see a few things that could impact performance:

"Disable Nagle's algorithm in order to provide better LAN network performance at the expense of WAN performance."

"Add AES-NI hardware support for the Intel Core i5/i7 processors that support this encryption set. This support speeds up AES encryption and decryption." (if you are using an Intel system with hardware AES encryption, and your FreeNAS install uses encryption)