PDF Tutorial with Best Practice Examples? (Tell me why I'm stupid)

Would you benefit from a PDF compendium with general examples and tutorials for a beginner?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Luminousdolphin

Dabbler
I've bit the bullet and went for the FreeNas Mini rather than a home build. Priced out about the same, and after reading cyberj0cks review I was impressed.

So, after getting the nas and disk and setting it up (in a very basic way) and a bit of getting my feet wet, reading various forum posts and external blogs on the topic, my head is spinning. Mostly, it seems that whenever one looks for a "guide" of some sort, or a step by step, half of the dialogue is "well, this isn't best practice, but here do this" or "there's no one way to do this" or a lot of conflicting information / opinions. This seems especially so when some users for home media use have totally open permissions

As a designer by trade, I guess I was looking more for an elegant tutorial of sorts that has well organized information. No offense towards cyberj0ck, as he seems to be a patron saint of freenas forums, but his tutorial looked like a 5th graders powerpoint. No table of contents? Come on. But, wouldn't it be nice to have something similar with an overview of possible configurations? Moreover, the only books on the subject seem quite out of date... I can't even buy my way out of disorganized materials.