Offline Backups for big datasets

raigan21

Cadet
Hello, community,

I'm still learning the ways of Truenas and ZFS and now I have an exciting task on hand, I need to find a way to create cold backups that will live offline most of the time for big datasets of around 20TB, most of the data are really high-resolution images and videos so if possible we don't want to use compression so the quality is not affected.

my idea is to use a small separate Truenas box like the Truenas mini-series to create pools and copies the data from the main Truenas to these new pools that later on will go offline, I'm doing this mainly because the main nas has no more empty bays.

so this small machine I was planning to create pools of 2 or 4 hard drives maximum to save the data and send it offline to a fireproof cabinet out of site.

Now my questions are:

1. is ZFS easy to restore when need it?
2. will ZFS protect my data from corruption in this way?
3. I know that spinning hard drive backups require a scrub often to guarantee the integrity of the data, the question is how often should we scrub the data that is offline?

I will appreciate any suggestion to guide me in this journey.

most of the data are really high-resolution images and videos so if possible we don't want to use compression so the quality is not affected.
ZFS inline compression is lossless (just like when you "zip" something); nor does it do anything beyond the stored records. Whether the file is a PDF document, JPEG image, MP4 video, ASCII text file, etc; it doesn't matter. Records are records. It's best to leave compression to "LZ4", as it uses "early abort" and any level of compression enabled will always compress the highly compressible metadata. (EDIT: This might not be true. ZFS may in fact always compress metadata by default, even if compression is disabled at the per-dataset level.)

I'd still leave compression enabled, since any type enabled will "zero out" the padding at the end of a record.