NTFS Drive Woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidHasEdge

Explorer
Hey guys,

I'm new to FreeNAS however not all that new to Linux/Unix. Anyhow, I just purchased some hardware to setup a new media server on and decided on FreeNAS as my OS. It's a Xeon E3 1245 v2, Supermicro board, 16GB of ECC DDR3. I'm booting off of USB flash and my ZFS pool is two 1TB sata drives connected directly to my motherboard in AHCI mode.

Ok, so, the meat and potatoes of my media center is two 4TB Seagate USB 3.0 HDDs. Both have nearly 3TB of space used, 1TB available. I've not been backing these up, yet, I plan on it eventually however nothing on there I would be too terribly upset about if I lost. It would suck but could be rebuilt. I have a USB 3.0 card in my server that FreeNAS sees, I added the turntable and turned on USB 3.0 support. The drives showed up and I was able to import them.

Then things got weird. I started getting random reboots. After fiddling with it for a while I decided to crack the external cases open and connect them directly to my SATA. Before doing so I ran a chkdsk in Windows and safely removed them. I connect them up to FreeNAS and no more reboots! FreeNAS is stable again. Both drives are seen by FreeNAS and I go to import the NTFS again.

Here comes the current issue, it sees one 4TB partition to import and one 500GB partition to import. I can verify there is no 500GB partition available. And the 4TB partition will never actually import. I disconnected them, connected them back to Windows via USB, did the chkdsk and safe removal, booted them back up in FreeNAS... same thing.

So, what would you recommend as my next step?

Thanks!

DavidHasEdge

Explorer