[NOOB Question] Re: Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

aikicoops

Cadet
Hi yguys.

I'm new to the "build your own NAS" community, so please bear with me here.

I have cobbled together a NAS out of parts of an old PC, (about 3 years old now).

I have installed a new WD Red 3Tb drive (currently striped) for the moment and installed FreeNAS via a bootable USB. Over the next month, I would like to increase the size of this volume to say 9-12Tb in total. This will only house music and movies at this stage, NO documents at all.
If a drive fails I don't care too much of I lose the data as I have it backed up through CrashPlan (if anyone is wondering about redundancy).

Then in the next couple of months, I will look at getting 3 more drives (to match the size of the original pool) and setup a mirror for the music/movies drives and start adding documents once I have redundancy setup (maybe Raid5? Thoughts please?).

All drives will be WD Reds.
The current system has 16Gb ram, with an intel i7.

As I am learning this as I go I would appreciate the help in setting this up.
Financially I am unable to just go out and Purchase all the drives at once, which I know is ideal.

Thanks for your help in advanced.

Cheers
Coops

Dice

Wizard
Welcome onboard.

1. https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/zfs-primer.38927/
2. https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ning-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/
3. https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?resources/hardware-recommendations-guide.12/
4. https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ll-a-proper-home-freenas-setup-cost-me.28936/

These links provide a basic foundation to make informed decisions on configuration of FreeNAS.
They all piece together, where, in spite of the immediate lack of "this is useful to me" flags - will for sure answer what the forum thinks about all of the questions indicated in your post.

Cheers.

Vito Reiter

Wise in the Ways of Science