BUILD Noob build need confirmation, Media Server purpose

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmacman

Dabbler
The primary purpose of my FreeNAS is an Emby Media Server. Secondary purpose is easy home file transfer for our collection of Macs, PCs and a Linux.

NONE of the data is life critical and anything that we do use on the FreeNAS (family photos, home movies, etc.) is backed up on secondary drives elsewhere.

Usually the Emby is just streaming files to devices running Kodi (FireTVs, etc) that do the decoding however there are times we view on other devices (phones, tablets, etc.) where the FreeNAS (well Emby) is doing transcoding. But this is the exception and not the rule.

With that as a back drop I would greatly appreciate any advice on if this build works. Keep in mind I'm a noob on FreeNAS (and yes, I have read, reread and re-reread the Hardware Recommendations (read this first) thread).

Also, my current FreeNAS is just a test base (read as: I used any lying around PC stuff and now plan to do it right). My current storage is identical in size to this build (running 5x3TB in RAIDz2) so comments on this setup would also be appreciated. Used vs Free space is currently around 70% used which seems okay to me but again comment if you feel I'm making mistakes.

EDITED for comments I've had so far

Prices are just average I've seen

MB: SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600 $196.99

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1220 V3 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor $204.99

RAM: Crucial 16GB CT102472BD160B 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC $120 (corrected RAM model for MB)

Case: Fractal Design Define R4 ATX Mid Tower Case $79.99

PS: SeaSonic 450W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply $79.99

HD: WD Green Drives 3.5-Inch 3TB 5400RPM $93 x 5 Drives Total $465 (went with Green since this not mission critical data and cost savings will allow failed replacements sooner and still save money)

Last edited:

joeschmuck

Old Man