Non-ECC and ZFS Scrub?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
we have experts around here? good lord i've been here more than two and a half years and have yet to see one...

cyberjock

Inactive Account
we have experts around here? good lord i've been here more than two and a half years and have yet to see one...

Look in the mirror! I'd consider you one of them!

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
It's certainly fair to say that if you do something with ZFS or FreeNAS that *BOTH* jgreco and Cyberjock think is stupid, then, it's definitely stupid.

titanic

Cadet
Hi,
I use EEC Ram (2 different manufact. though) on my HP ProLiant N54L home server setup w. FreeNAS.
Since I use ZFS, I am kinda worried, that even a single error, that the EEC does not correct/detect, could waste my entire storage pool.
Since I am not an expert, I am unsure if I should continue using ZFS; sure, an uncorrected RAM error is always a bad thing, but a filesystem that seems to turn one single bit failiure into a chain-reaction of data-doom, if the error just happens to corrupt the wrong kind of data, seems risky.

Since the my ZFS pools are my only backups (home user), should I rather switch to a different filesystem; should a ZFS only be used if secondary BU solutions are in place?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
titanic: If you are using ECC RAM you have nothing to fear. The reality of it is that if you had one error in your RAM every second you wouldn't have had a chance for it to not be detected in the estimated age of the universe(or something incredibly old).

So don't sweat it.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Backups are always best practice, find a way to make sure your critical bits get backed up.

But you are fine. You are better-protected against loss with ZFS. A lot of the ECC discussion revolves around the possible snowball effect. ZFS lacks automatic tools to repair metadata damage, but a properly designed system with ECC and redundancy should never develop such damage.