No longer able to boot: "you need to load the kernel first"

Hello! I'm not sure where to post my question as I am not running TrueNAS. I was "referred" here from this Youtube video discussing the benefits and awesomeness of zfs.

If I'm in the wrong place, or if this shouldn't even be posted, I sincerely apologize. I figured you all are experts to zfs, at least compared to the folks over on Ubuntu/Linux Mint forums.

I'm experiencing issues with my new Linux Mint 21.3 on a new desktop computer, which is based on Ubuntu 22. I'm not new to Linux; I've been using Linux for almost 20 years, using Ubuntu as my primary desktop for the majority of that time. However, I've always used ext3/4. When setting up Linux Mint, I saw the option to use zfs and did some research into it and found the benefits worth the uncertainty/unfamiliarity.

The OS ran fine for a few days. I attached a second hard drive to act as a mirror to the first using the instructions here. I was having screen related issues and was recommended to install a BIOS patch. After doing so, I was unable to boot:

Code:
error: file `/BOOT/ubuntu_udd128@/vmlinuz-6.5.0.21-generic' not found.
error: you need to load the kernel first.

After a few days of unsuccessful troubleshooting, I decided to [c]zfs send[/c] the snapshots and reinstall LM. Wanting to recreate the issue, I repatched my BIOS, but my install survived. So I applied my snapshots and continued to rebuild my desktop. A few days later, after a reboot, I encountered the same error.

During my troubleshooting in GRUB, it seems like GRUB is unable to load the EFI partition. I do have secure boot enabled and I've found that my motherboard (make and model below) makes it awfully difficult to disable it. During the first troubleshooting, I tried disabling SecureBoot to no avail.

I've tried running Boot Repair to no avail.

I've reverted bpool to the previous day's snapshot, to no avail.