NIC keeps changing from "UP" to "DOWN" and cant access GUI, FreeNAS 11.2 Beta

Status
Not open for further replies.

CH4Pz

Explorer
Hiya all, massive Noob here, please be gentle lol.. so last night i upgraded to 11.2 beta, along with the new ui, i was also in the process of rebuilding my jails. As i hadnt previously had to enter "Netmask" before, i made most of the jails DHCP, but wanted to try out couch potato plugin, but this time (after googling netmask) entered the static settings of 192.168.0.10 with netmask of 32. then from the jails or plugin menu (sorry was still learning new layout cant remember which menu i was on) on the couch potato dropdown menu it says "upgrade", so i decided to upgrade before setting things up, to which it logged me out to the login screen and had a large loading sign. the screen output was saying attempts to modify permanent entry at, etc etc.. it also locked me out of the UI, even after trying to open it in a new tab. After 15min of waiting i assumed it had hung so i reset and now upon boot the NIC goes in a constant up/down loop, cant access UI or boot at all. I've tried both NICs and even tried booting into older versions through the boot manager. tried "single user mode" but asked for directory before getting to the part where this issue occurs. Sorry for long post just wanted as many details as possible, system in sig :)
freenas error.png

Is that the NIC in the FreeNAS box, or the NIC in the jail? I am guessing it is the former. Off the cuff, that smacks of bad cable or bad switch port.

Edit: Also, a 32 bit netmask means exactly one host on the network. No talking to any other hosts on that NIC. That is just an aside. I can't see how the IP assigned would have any impact on the physical state of the NIC.

CH4Pz

Explorer