[NFS + LDAP] Group permissions not working

Hi, I'm new to FreeNAS and so I'm testing it on VMs before doing anything else. My setup looks like this:

== LDAP VM
Software: OpenLDAP (followed this tutorial)

== Storage VM
Steps:
* Open Directory Services > LDAP and set Hostname, Base DN, Bind DN and Bind password correctly. Set Enable to true.
* Create pool using secondary Virtual Disk called "Pool01"
* Create dataset inside this pool called "ds1"
* Open Sharing/Unix Shares (NFS) and add/mnt/Pool01/ds1
* Go back to the "ds1" and edit permissions: Owner User becomes "cluster", which is a valid user on LDAP, Owner Group becomes "cluster", which is also a valid group on my LDAP server
* Even with "Apply Group" and "Apply User" options enabled, it passes. It means that they exist.

When I mount this share on "/storage" it goes well, but I can't write into the directory, even being on the "cluster" group. If I ser the Owner User of "ds1" to "c01", which is another user I've created, only "c01" is able to manage the directory successfully.

Why can't group stuff work?

Note: I just want FreeNAS to provide the NFS share. Permissions and stuff should be managed through LDAP. Is it possible?

Fredda

Guru
Managing stuff through LDAP is possible. I'm not sure if I understand your configuration correctly and there is also some information missing.
* Is the LDAP working correctly? Please check with from the FreeNAS shell with getent passwd ds1 and getent group cluster.
* How did you configure your unix share? Could you post your /etc/exports file? Please use [code][/code] tags
* Do you use nfs or nfsv4?

Hi, thanks for the reply.

I'm sorry if anything is missing, I do not understand quite well how FreeNAS works. But anyway:

Is the LDAP working correctly? Please check with from the FreeNAS shell with "getent passwd ds1" and "getent group cluster"
The "getent passwd ds1" command gives me no text output, but when I do "echo $?" I get code 2, which means it's probably not OK.