New to TrueNas

weezypenguin

Cadet
I am new to TrueNas and any NAS software. I am awaiting some new NAS devices to be delivered as part of a Kickstart Project i have backed. They come with TrueNas Scaler.
So in readiness I thought it would be a good idea if I was to spin up a server and set it up ahead of time. I can then learn the software ahead of the NAS delivery.
My question is..
I have the hardware; I have multiple USB drives. So that is all covered. But I only have hard drives of differing capacities. Because this is purely a test exercise.
Do I need to have drives of the same capacity?
I look forward to your thoughts and comments.
TIA

Do I need to have drives of the same capacity?
Not technically, no. Your "vdev" will be limited by the smallest drive.

If you have a mirror vdev of 1TB drive + 2TB drive, you will end up with a mirror vdev of 1TB storage capacity, since it's the same as if all your drives were 1TB.

If you have a RAIDZ1 vdev of 1TB drive + 2TB drive + 3TB drive, you will end up with a RAIDZ1 vdev of 2TB storage capacity, since it's the same as if all your drives were 1TB.

And so on, and so on.

The smallest member in a vdev dictates the "size" for all members, which dictates the total storage capacity for your vdev.

A pool can have one vdev, but it can also be comprised of multiple vdevs.

Highly recommended introduction to ZFS: https://arstechnica.com/information...01-understanding-zfs-storage-and-performance/

Last edited:

weezypenguin

Cadet
That is great thanks. So if i go unraid. Bascially it is going to be a Plex server. So current libraries are all set up and not thinking i want to changes them. I have so much data and to have a raid set up would be costly on drives etc. Can I creat a dataset/pool (excuse me if my terminology is incorrect) using only 1 drive? Or does it require 2 minimum?

Can I creat a dataset/pool (excuse me if my terminology is incorrect) using only 1 drive?