New to the NAS scene

Status
Not open for further replies.

pelican

Cadet
Hey guys,

I'm really new to the NAS scene but it's something I've already attained some pieces for and now I'm looking for some additional details. I'm primarily going to be using it to run PLEX, since my media library keeps growing and I'm tired of adding hard drives to my desktop. I figured my fiance and I could also finally pool all of our media onto one source, as well.

I've done a bunch of reading, but if anybody is using the ASRock C2750 and can throw me some tips, please hit me up--I'd love to chat. I have a few random (yet oddly specific) questions regarding its setup.

Hoping to learn a lot before I finally cement the NAS of my dreams, haha.

CraigD

Patron
A lot of the ASRock C2750 boards have started to just die, also some not all users are having issues with the Marvell SATA Ports

Have you considered SuperMicro motherboards maybe the X10SLL-F (32GB RAM Max), you can add an HBA to it if you need more SATA ports or even buy the X10SL7-F(32GB RAM Max), or the X11SSL-CF (64GB RAM Max) they both have 14 ports

In any case read this

Have Fun

pelican

Cadet
I was able to grab a new C2750 for pretty cheap, so that's the reason I ended up sticking with it.

As far as it goes, I'm using a DS380 case with it and I'm wondering if the 8x hot swappable bays can run a full RAIDZ-2 setup (8x 4TB). Also looking to use a couple of 120GB SSDs for caching (they're nothing super fancy).

So I guess the real semantics of the questions are: if I can do 8x 4TB RAIDZ-2, should I run them all via SATA3 and use the SSDs for SATA2, or does it matter if a couple of the HDDs are stuck in SATA2 ports? (if that makes any sense... I know this is probably a reaaaally simple question for more educated/experienced users).

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
I was able to grab a new C2750 for pretty cheap, so that's the reason I ended up sticking with it.