New to FreeNAS - Please critique my setup.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SomeRandomBS

Dabbler
Hello, I am new to FreeNAS but I feel like I have done my research. I would very much appreciate more advanced users opinions and any recommendations of my current configuration. I understand that running FreeNAS from a VM is not the most desirable configuration but I feel that I have done it in the best possible way, significantly reducing my risk of data loss.

Hardware:
ESXi run from 32GB USB
SuperMicro X10SRL-F
E5-4620 V3
128GB DDR4-2133 (Runs at 1867)
4x4TB LSI RAID 10 (Main ESXi Datastore)
4x6TB Non-RAID (Separate controller from LSI RAID)

FreeNAS is run as a VM with the following specs. These can be increased if necessary, this was just my starting point.
4 vCPU
32GB RAM
40GB OS Drive on the (ESXi DataStore)
4x6TB for ZFS via DirectPath I/O PT

So I have the 4x6TB setup in Mirror (RAID10) and I have setup the following DataSets.

Archive_Dedupe (lz4 with ZFS Dedupe enabled, atime enabled)
WindowsBackups_Dedupe (lz4 with ZFS Dedupe enabled)
Downloads (No compression, atime enabled)
Storage (lz4)

I am on the fence about using Dedupe after doing research however I really wanted to take advantage of this for Archive data and Windows Backups. Thoughts?

Any other recommendations?

Nick2253

Wizard
On the whole, your build looks really good. Thank you for doing your research :D. I have a couple comments for you:
  • I would say that 4 vCPUs is a good spot. 4vCPUs may be overkill, depending on what you're doing with FreeNAS, so you might be able to get away with two, but I would do some benchmarking before.
  • 32GB of memory is good, unless you enable dedup. The rule of thumb is 5GB RAM to 1TB deduped storage, so in that case, you'd need to up your memory significantly.