New FreeNAS setup but can't seem to set it up right with SMB

carlovdv

Cadet
Hello,

I am fairly new to FreeNAS and wanted to set it up as home server for my family and run a VM on it aswell. So basically I have followed a guide on how to set it up, but I somehow can't connect to the user folders.

Setup:
Processor: AMD Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard: ASRock X399 Taichi
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB (4 sticks running in quad channel)

How I am planning to use it:
So I primarely have 2 users that need access for now to the NAS. One of them should have admin rights.
They don't need to share files between each other they basically use it as backup or external storage.
I want each of them to have their own home directory and if possible limit the storage to 1TB-ish.

What have I done so far:
I've created a called HDD and a dataset called Home. In this dataset I gave access to a new "users" group that have Full Control.
I've added a user with my name and e-mail and checked Microsoft Account.
I enabled SMB.
I'm running Windows 10 Pro from a bussiness AzureAD/Office365 account.

Current situation:
The NAS is listed in my network and I can access the Home folder. However I can't access the User folder.

StoreMore

Dabbler
When setting up storage it sounds like you created the storage pool and enabled smb. Did you actually setup the share?

Here's a YouTube video from FreeNAS on how to configure this. https://youtu.be/mCfX4sqDmzs

I want each of them to have their own home directory and if possible limit the storage to 1TB-ish.
Read up on the FreeNAS User Guide regarding dataset quotas and reservations.

Here's a YouTube video from FreeNAS on how to configure this. https://youtu.be/mCfX4sqDmzs
There are lots of great resources out there; and unfortunately lots of bad ones too. I don't know about this video in particular but generally I suggest following the User Guide first.

Did you actually setup the share?