New folders created by users are not editable by the same users on Macs via SMB

xpace

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new to TrueNAS but not new to Linux/UNIX.
My TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.0 server in office environment for graphic design studio is working as it should except one strange thing.

10 people connected via SMB from Apple iMacs sharing all same folders with their work is working flawlessly except when someone creates a new folder/subfolder.

Example 1:
User creates a folder and wants to upload a file. Folder created, but uploading a file asking for username and password which is never approved (message wrong user/pass). Creating another folder works just as it should with uploading a file no problem.

Example 2:
User creates a folder but realizes he/she made a mistake in the name so is trying to rename it but right click menu is NOT showing Rename. So he/she can't rename it or even upload any files to it.
Again, creating another folder works just fine exactly as it should.

This happens on daily basis randomly with number of users which leaves empty folders on the server.
All these users are in the same group.
At the moment is not a big issue as there is a workaround but in a years time it will leave too many empty folders on the drive and it can become messy as they already have hundreds of subfolders for each of their clients.

If you have any idea what could be wrong please let me know.
Thank you very much in advance

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality

Davvo

MVP
I am genuinely interested in the thought process that made you decide to post a SCALE-related question into the FreeNAS (Legacy Software Releases) section instead of the TrueNAS SCALE section. Please don't take it as me trying to devaluate you or similar, I am just a little baffled.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality

xpace

Cadet
Thanks for the link. I have checked, it seems very similar but I don't think it is same.