Networking FreeNAS 11.0 + VM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finnless

Dabbler
I'm replacing an aging Windows Home Server (v1) that has been chugging along as both a media back end (running SageTV) and storage/backup system with a new FreeNAS system. After going down the Corral dead end on my first attempt, I have set up a FN 11.0 system. It is up and running and I've added a VM running Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS for the SageTV service. I've made heavy use of the forum searches and docs to get this far (never would have got past the EFI boot bug without it) but I'm getting a lot of irrelevant Corral pages in search results about VMs.

So while all appears to be more or less functioning at this point, I am not sure about the "proper" networking setup for the VM. I am new to much of this. The old Windows Home Server was pretty much 'plug-and-play'. Not sure if this is a FreeNAS networking question, a VM question, an Ubuntu question, or some combination of these things...

I have given the FreeNAS system a fixed IP address via my router, which uses the FreeNAS MAC address to assign it an IP.

I need the Ubuntu VM to also have a fixed IP address on the local network. Obviously a different one.

I tried doing this at first by modifying /etc/network/interfaces within the Ubuntu VM to provide the interface (usually eth0, but called enp0s3 in the Ubuntu VM) with a static address. This gave me local network connectivity but no connection to the internet.

Next I switched back to DHCP within the Ubuntu VM, noted the MAC address of the 'virtual' enp0s3 network interface, and set my router to assign a static IP to that MAC address. This is giving both local and internet connectivity, but I'm not sure this is a good way to proceed since the MAC address isn't for a physical device. Might it change at some point after a reboot?