Network speed issues involving USB 3.0 Gigabit adapter

AgentMC

Cadet
Hello forum,

I'm new to FreeNAS and FreeBSD generally, so please forgive my obvious mistakes :)

So, a week ago, I have converted my old laptop (Core i3-2xxx; 16 GB DDR3; 2xTOSHIBA HDWL120) into a FreeNAS unit, and everything was fine until I understood the onboard NIC is 100Mb. I have bought an Amazon Basics USB 3.0 Gigabit NIC, and plugged in. FreeNAS perfectly recognized it and after some dances around, changing IPs etc, it is now using the same IP as the previous NIC, while the previous NIC is switched over to entirely different subnet to avoid "2 interfaces on the same net" problem. All works fine.

Except, the backup speed did not increase. My setup:
FreeNAS --(USB3.0)--> USB to ethernet (ASIX AX88179) --(CAT7 flat cable)--> Virginmedia cable router

I have conducted several speed tests, and they only confused me. I am bringing them here so maybe you can help me to understand where things are going wrong?
Below all is Megabits per second.
  1. iperf freenas --> test laptop (2019, Windows), over WIFI = roughly 100 Mbps, +/-10. Top shows system usage is basically 1-2%.
    • Windows copy file observation renders roughly the same, freenas drive load is barely 10% (freenas monitoring).
  2. iperf freenas --> test laptop, over Ethernet = roughly 390 Mbps, +/-10. System usage is 10%
  3. file download (http://ipv4.download.thinkbroadband.com/1GB.zip) freenas = 16 Mbps (!).
  4. file download (http://ipv4.download.thinkbroadband.com/1GB.zip) test laptop, over Wifi = 180 Mbps (my outgoing network is 240).
  5. file download (http://ipv4.download.thinkbroadband.com/1GB.zip) test laptop, over Ethernet = 190 Mbps.
Would appreciate any ideas on what is going on with those numbers.

AgentMC

Cadet
Another test: installed qBittorrent plugin. Downloading a file (same file for both systems):
  • freenas --> up to 40 Mb;
  • test laptop --> 56 to 80 Mb.