Network fails on reboot

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to FreeNAS and this my first build. Everything seems to be running fine, but when I reboot or shutdown/start the system, about 75% of the time the network does not start up correctly. Symptoms are not consistent, sometimes FreeNAS acts like the link is up, but my PCs can't see it; sometimes it will tell me there No Interfaces Configured. I can sometimes go in and restart the interface and everything works fine, other times I have to re-enter the interface.

System configuration: FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201511040813; Intel Xeon-1246v3; 32GB ECC ; ASRock C226-WS, Intel E1G44HT I349-T4 PCIe adapter.

Network equipment: Zyxel GS1900-16; ASUS RT-AC3200/Asuswrt-Merlin 378.54_2

Network config: Static IP; OpenDNS nameservers, Link aggregation- lagg0 (lacp: igb0, igb1, igb2, igb3)

I've rebuilt the interface and aggregation many times, reloaded the OS twice, and the problem continues to appear. Not that I think it's related but CIFS shares periodically stop working on the some PCs while working on others (I've been writing that off to vagaries of Windows).

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
I'm willing to bet $1500 that it's your link aggregation. For S&G, why not just turn it off, reboot the box with a simple, single, interface to the gateway (no LACP/aggregation), and let's see if the problem disappear.

Then, at least, we'll know where to direct the effort.