Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Network dropouts Freenas 8 (VMware)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
3
Hi,

I'm using freeNAS for years now and I'm very pleased with the results I've gotten. This is untill I've installed FreeNAS 8.

I love the new look and feel of it, however it's a pain to get it to work.

My setup:

VMware server with 3 clients:

1. XP workstation (1GB ram)
2. OpenERP (512MB ram)
3. FreeNAS 8 (2.4Ghz CPU, 2GB ram, 3 x 2TB storage in ZFS) ****2GB Ram is upped to 4GB now

After some testing and playing with it, I've configured the NAS to be a CIFS server (Windows Share's, FTP en SSH). Finaly got this to work.

However I get some network dropouts, these are random and I can't find why it drops. When it works I get my max. throughput and all's fine. I can even put up 3 or 4 streams and still get good results. But than my connection drops. The only way to get it to work again (in XP or Windows 7) is to go to the NAS manually, select the folder I'm working on, select the properties, choose something (archive, read only or whatever) save it and I can work again. Till the next dropout, then I do the same in reverse and can work again.

The strange thing about it, is I can still reach the NAS, but Windows says it's gone? -> this seems to be wrong, The Nas appears to reboot each time it drops connection.

I've already searched the forum, but there's nothing I found that clears my problems.
 
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
3

torrin

Moderator
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
32
Your NAS automatically reboots when that happen? I would ssh into the box and tail -f /var/log/messages to see what is going on. I can also tell you that 2GB of memory can lead to performance issues and general wonkiness with ZFS.
 
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
3
Hi, Thanks for the reply, gonna check the messages and see whats going on there.

I've also upped the ram to 3GB, but no change.

edit:
nas# tail -f /var/log/messages
May 31 21:35:08 nas ntpd[1316]: ntpd 4.2.4p5-a (1)
May 31 21:35:08 nas kernel: fuse4bsd: version 0.3.9-pre1, FUSE ABI 7.8
May 31 21:35:09 nas root: /etc/rc: WARNING: failed to start proftpd
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: host name not found: 0.freebsd.pool.ntp. org
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: couldn't resolve `0.freebsd.pool.ntp.org ', giving up on it
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: host name not found: 1.freebsd.pool.ntp. org
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: couldn't resolve `1.freebsd.pool.ntp.org ', giving up on it
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: host name not found: 2.freebsd.pool.ntp. org
May 31 21:35:10 nas ntpd_initres[1331]: couldn't resolve `2.freebsd.pool.ntp.org ', giving up on it
May 31 23:28:02 nas sshd[3172]: login_getclass: unknown class 'root'
May 31 23:28:05 nas sshd[3172]: login_getclass: unknown class 'root'
I also noticed in the reporting tool it used a max. of 1GB ram?

I swithed off FTP because of the error. Also changed the ntp servers, but there errors stay, my network and gateway are correct.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
6
Hi Zodiac,

I'm having similar problems using dedicated hardware and 8GB of Ram.

Did you manage to solve the problem?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top